top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShelly Bell

Fyre Festival Docs

This week two documentaries were released detailing the series of unfortunate events instigated by Billy McFarland.


Conman and cofounder of the Fyre Festival, Billy McFarland matches the pattern that investors are willing to take a chance on. Without any evidence of potential success he raised millions from investors. I was (jokingly) inspired by the documentary to make the most ridiculous asks I can think of from every investor and institution I can think of.


However, I can't say that I have the "white male" safety net to fail. Black Girl Ventures is actually on the ground in several cities succeeding at creating economic equity and we've struggled to raise charitable donations. What I learned from Billy, is that when you're a white male, you're given lots of space to take a "moonshot" and miss! In both the Hulu and Netflix documentaries he is unbothered and still spending money. He started another scheme right after the Fyre Festival.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page