top of page

Mother's Day Edition: How Mompreneurs Balance Motherhood With Growing A Business

Being a mom and being an entrepreneur are two tasks that seem to be impossible to juggle. There are no timeouts in entrepreneurship, and your child doesn't care if you need to leave the house to run errands. Being a mompreneur means you have to prioritize your time and life to make the most out of everything you can every day. You have to learn how to say no when needed and set boundaries between work and home life to keep yourself sane (and hopefully healthy).


Does this feel overwhelming? Or does it feel like it's taking away from your family life? That's okay because this is normal! Know that you're not alone in this struggle! It's about finding the balance where it's possible within your life situation—whatever that looks like for you! But whether it's learning how to make time for yourself or setting up boundaries with your family members or employees so that everyone feels heard without sacrificing productivity, the quality of your work, or relationships—it's possible.


Many women tell us that they don't have time to start their own business and be a mom, but we know that's not true! Here are 5 women who are mompreneurs making it work the best they can.


1. Kimberly Redd, Founder & CEO of Hair Love Salon

I am a Salon Owner/Stylist at Hair Love Salon. I also specialize in bridal and provide on-location services for special occasions. I've also developed and distributed a brand of hair Oils (Stimulating Growth Oil), SGO.


I am also self-employed as an MD STATE Licensed Realtor assisting buyers and sellers. But my most important responsibility is being a good wife, a football mom to my 16-year-old son (Oliver), and a dance mom to my 13-year-old daughter (Khloe).


How do you do it "all"?

It's not easy, but the blessing of being a mompreneur is that I can make my schedule work for me. I make my children and their activities a priority. If they have an event, I try my best to treat it like the most important thing I have to do. It gets marked on my calendar, and I don't let anything interfere with me being present for my children.


What is your self-care routine?

I pray l, meditate, and try to stay healthy physically. I recently just started to schedule some time to take myself to dinner on Wednesdays when my daughter is at dance for a few hours. I've really learned to enjoy that alone time.


What advice do you have for moms who want to start their businesses but are hesitant because they're unsure how to balance it all?

Schedule everything and try your best to follow it. We often feel that there's not enough time in the day. Preparation is key.


Learn more about Hair Love Beauty Salon.



2. Tylisha Summers, Co-Founder of Spendebt

Spendebt helps companies recover payments from their customers through everyday spending. A small amount of micropayment is automatically removed from their connected bank account as a consumer spends.


The micropayments are sent to the users' creditors at the end of each month. Spendebt is a win-win for both the end customers and companies, restoring consumers' financial confidence while helping companies improve their revenue.


How do you do it "all"?

Some days I do, and some days, I don't. I'm human. I have a loving husband and business partner who understands the grind that I'm faced with day in and day out. We encourage each other and help each other take a break when needed. Routine and schedules help keep us on task for the most part. I strive to get things done right away in order to minimize follow-ups and to-do lists. I find time for myself daily, whether it's working out, listening to music, watching a show, or doing anything else I want to do. And we are committed to always taking the needed break to have quality family time!


What is your self-care routine?

Not sure I have a formal one. I love listening to music. So I may randomly have a mini-school concert/jam session at the house. I take time to do my toenails. Never know when the toes will be exposed, and I want to ensure they are always well kept. That's about it!


What advice do you have for moms who want to start their businesses but are hesitant because they're unsure how to balance it all?

Just start! There will never be a perfect time. Before we had kids, we likely didn't think we had enough time in a day. Then we had kids and found/made time. Prioritize what's important, give yourself grace because every day won't be productive, and keep showing up every single day. Don't forget to take care of yourself, your family, and then your business (in that order).


Learn more about Spendebt.


3. Cindy Tawiah, Founder of Diva By Cindy

Cindy Tawiah, I own Diva By Cindy hair care brand and Tue Diva Day Spa in MD. Our location and brand focus on women's healing, change, and transformation. I founded the company in 2004 with a hair salon, transitioned to my products, and currently own a Day Spa /Healing Center. I also have vending machines with my products in BWI airport and on Ft. Belvoir Military base.


How do you do it "all"?

I have a team, am extremely disciplined, and don't procrastinate. If you don't plan meals for your family and don't have systems or a routine for your children, you will become overwhelmed and not be able to function. One of the misconceptions is being a mother is not as hard as people think it is. I beg to differ. It is one of the hardest, most selfless things I have ever done.


What is your self-care routine?

Even though I own a Day Spa, I visit someone else for my massages. I spend most of my days counseling people and love my Sundays where I can watch Lifetime, fall asleep, and have Lifetime watch me. I have a healing prayer room and sit there as well. I use the Spa hot tub, Sauna and walk barefoot on our compound at work to keep myself grounded.


What advice do you have for moms who want to start their businesses but are hesitant because they're unsure how to balance it all?

You need to start. It is not about you. It is about the next generation. Your children need inspiration. Black and Brown babies need to see more parents aspire to entrepreneurship. My oldest Son wrote his college essay about me and how I ruminate on my business. Today he runs his own real estate firm. You will never feel fulfilled until you follow your passion and purpose. Remember, the children will grow and go, and then what will you do with yourself?


Learn more about Diva By Cindy.


4. Brieanna Lightfoot Smith Founder of Brands by Brie

My name is Brieanna Lightfoot Smith, and I'm the owner of Brands by Brie. I help moms build solid businesses while raising their babies. My boutique agency offers everything from logo and website design to social media and brand strategy.


How do you do it "all"?

I firmly believe a healthy family and a profitable business can coexist. It's all about proper prioritization. Instead of trying to be all the things to everyone all the time, I've learned to block out slots in my calendar for particular things. For example, two out of the three of my boys are in school on Mondays and Wednesdays, so I block out time for client meetings. I also keep Friday evenings set aside for my boys. We have a movie night every week. This special time gives us a space to connect, relax and unwind at the end of the week.


What is your self-care routine?

I'm still working on this, but all in all, it involves getting time by myself and time with friends. I'd be killing it if I could nail down a consistent bedtime!


What advice do you have for moms who want to start their businesses but are hesitant because they're unsure how to balance it all?

"Start where you are. Use what you have. Do what you can." You'll never find out how to "balance it all" if you don't begin. Also, go ahead and surrender the superwoman cape now, my love. Your strength will be found in asking for assistance in areas you need it.


Learn more about Brands by Brie.


5. Dr. Kristian Edwards, Founder of BLK + GRN

I'm Dr. Kristian Edwards, the founder of BLK + GRN, an all-natural marketplace by all Black artisans. We curate natural products that Black artisans and entrepreneurs handcraft.


How do you do it "all"?

Mompreneurs are not superwomen. They still need time to take care of themselves, and investing in themself helps them show up better for their business and their children.


What is your self-care routine?

Yoga, working out, conversations, and connections with other Black women


What advice do you have for moms who want to start their businesses but are hesitant because they're unsure how to balance it all?

1. Get a good support system.

2. Be honest about what they can and can not do so they aren't trying to do everything

3. Get help. Don't try to do everything yourself. Outsource whatever you can to get balance.


Learn more about BLK + GRN.


Motherhood is the ultimate challenge, and entrepreneurship will stretch you as well. But what really, in the end, matters is that you have a passion for what you do. It may be hard at times and require long hours, but if you're passionate about what you do and make time to enjoy life alongside your family and loved ones, it will make all the difference.


Subscribe to the Digital Orange Juice for juicy ideas and the people who fund them. You can find out about our next pitch competitions. Also, be sure to join our new community BGV Connect!

174 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page