top of page

Spotlight on BGV Houston: Meet our Change Agents

Updated: Dec 31, 2020

We’re excited to kick off the New Year with the launch of five new Black Girl Ventures Chapters in Birmingham, Durham, Houston, Miami and Philadelphia. Our Venture Boards in these five cities will expand opportunities for Black and Brown woman-identifying founders in their local ecosystem. First up in our BGV Chapter Spotlight Series is Houston! Meet our Houston Venture Board.


Black Girl Ventures has recruited five highly accomplished Change Agents who are making waves in the Houston business community. Many of these women have firsthand experience of the challenges faced by Black and Brown women entrepreneurs, and all of them share a commitment to building a more inclusive economy in Houston and beyond.


We had the opportunity to catch up with these dynamic business leaders over the holidays. They shared with us their motivations for stepping up to the plate and implementing BGV’s mission in the Houston ecosystem.

“I have dedicated both my personal and professional life to providing resources to those who look like me.” - Joy M. Hutton

Joy M. Hutton, our Houston Venture Board Lead, is the Founder of Joy of Consulting, a management consulting firm, and On the go GLAM, a beauty on-demand platform. She’s been recognized in the Houston business community for her visionary leadership and strong business acumen. “As a woman of color entrepreneur in tech, which are three anomalies, my involvement in BGV is crucial. I have dedicated both my personal and professional life to providing resources to those who look like me,” she told us. “Access to capital is one of the biggest challenges that Black and Brown women founders face and BGV aims to solve this problem - with the recent expansion, we can reach more founders on a larger scale and make a tremendous impact in the startup ecosystem.”




“As an entrepreneur, I know first hand how challenging it is to scale a business without proper funding.” - Joshlyn Ross

Joshlyn Ross, our Houston Chapter Marketing Lead, is the Chief Strategist at Elevat8 Digital, a digital marketing and advertising agency. Her expertise in Marketing and Communications will serve her well as she spreads the word about BGV in Houston. “As an entrepreneur, I know first hand how challenging it is to scale a business without proper funding,” she said. “Black Girl Ventures fills an important need by making capital more accessible and training the WHOLE entrepreneur so that they are confident in their business. That type of impact is something I had to be apart of and I look forward to establishing BGV roots in Houston.”



“I have always had a heart to empower, motivate and inspire underrepresented individuals through mentorship and education.” - Vanessa Lampkin

Vanessa Lampkin, our Houston Chapter Community Manager, is a Human Resources consultant and Organizational Development expert who is passionate about helping others and fostering positive change in Houston. “Being a part of BGV means that I have an opportunity to walk in my true Divine Purpose on a national platform with some powerful women. I have always had a heart to empower, motivate and inspire underrepresented individuals through mentorship and education,” she shared. “I believe wholeheartedly in the statement that each one teach one. I am super pumped up for BGV Houston in 2020 because I have an opportunity to bring much needed resources to my city with 4 other Powerhouses. It’s about to be a BGV Houston takeover for sure.”



“There’s an immediate need for Black and Brown women to have access to true business education and a clear roadmap on how to grow and scale their respective businesses.” - Sharita Humphrey

Sharita Clark, our Houston Chapter Sponsorship/Partnership Manager, is a seasoned Tax Examiner and Auditor with significant Client Relations experience. Sharita runs a tight ship and her positivity is infectious. “I got involved with Black Girl Ventures because there’s an immediate need for Black and Brown women to have access to true business education and a clear roadmap on how to grow and scale their respective businesses,” Sharita said. “I’m so excited about the 2020 BGV Houston launch because it’s going to make history in Houston!”




“As a female founder, I know firsthand how challenging it can be to find funding for my business.” - Ty’Lisha Summers

Ty'Lisha Summers, our Houston Chapter Event Manager, is a Chemical Engineer and the Co-Founder of SpenDebt. Her entrepreneurial experience will make her a great resource to other founders as she runs the annual BGV Houston Pitch Competition. “I got involved with BGV because as a female founder I know firsthand how challenging it can be to find funding for my business. What better way to learn than to be connected to others who have figured it out,” she told us. “This role provides me with the opportunity to help so many other female founders in the same position as me. I am so excited about providing resources and a platform specifically for Black and Brown women founders to help them reach their next milestones and beyond!”


To learn more about the Black Girl Ventures Houston Chapter, visit https://www.blackgirlventures.org/houston.

282 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page